LIVE CHAT

If you are not to blame for a Dallas car accident and have no insurance, you may still be able to recover damages, but there are a lot of mitigating factors.

Texas Auto Insurance Rules

 

Texas requires that drivers keep at least a 30/60/25 liability policy. This means your policy will include the following coverage. 

  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

This covers others’ injuries and damages for an accident that you cause. Liability insurance doesn’t cover your own damages. But many people decide to purchase additional coverage to protect their families should an accident occur.

If you fail to keep the minimum insurance, you can be subject to fines. Also, if you’re at fault for an accident, you will liable for the damages that others cause. If you don’t have insurance, you’ll have to foot the bill yourself.

What if I don’t have insurance and didn’t cause the wreck?

 

While you are legally required to carry auto insurance, sometimes there are gaps in coverage. Late insurance premium payments or lost paperwork could result in a lapse in coverage. Some simply can’t afford the premiums.

If you were in a car accident without insurance and it was the other party who was at fault, you can file a claim against that party, regardless of whether or not you have insurance. Texas is a “fault” insurance state. This means that the party at fault for the accident is responsible for paying the damages. So you are within your legal rights to file a claim or suit against the other driver to seek reimbursement for your damages.

You’ll have to provide evidence to prove the other party’s negligence. Speak to an attorney for help taking legal action.

Making Ends Meet While Awaiting Your Claim Settlement

 

If you are eligible to file a claim against the other driver and you don’t have auto insurance, find alternative ways to pay for your treatments and other bills while awaiting your claim to settle.

You can use your own health insurance to pay for your medical bills. Just be aware that your insurer will want reimbursement for the payments it makes when you receive your settlement check. If your injury was disabling, you can also use any disability insurance you may have.

If you don’t have health insurance or disability insurance, or it’s not enough to sustain you, you may have to look into getting a loan.

Free Consultation with an Accident Attorney in Dallas

 

If you were in a car accident with no insurance and you were not at fault, call an attorney for help getting the damages you deserve. For a free consultation with an auto accident attorney in Dallas, contact Julie Johnson today at (214) 290-8001.