For drivers in the state of Texas, it’s mandatory to carry car insurance.
Required insurance types are as follows.
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $60,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability per accident
However, there are additional insurance options you may want to consider.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured (UIM) coverage isn’t mandatory in Texas, but it could save you hundreds of thousands of dollars. In the event that you’re involved in an accident caused by a driver without insurance, UM/UIM is an immense help.
This insurance type is meant to act as a coverage option that’s secondary to the at-fault driver’s insurance. In the event that the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough (or any) insurance to pay adequately for damages, UM/UIM covers the gap. The standard limit for uninsured motorist coverage is $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident in Texas. Carrying UM/UIM coverage is only one of the things you need to know about an accident with an uninsured driver.
Medical Payments Coverage
Another additional coverage type for Texas drivers is medical payments. This coverage type handles medical payments for both you and your passengers in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Med payments can also cover funeral expenses if need be. The average limit for medical payments coverage is $2,000.
Collision and Comprehensive
Collision covers the cost of property damage when your vehicle is damaged in an accident that your standard property damage limits don’t cover.
Comprehensive insurance covers property damage that’s not caused by an accident with another vehicle, things like this list.
There is typically a $500 deductible (each) for collision and comprehensive coverage in Texas.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection, often called PIP insurance, is similar to medical payments coverage in that it covers the cost of medical bills for you or your passengers if hurt in an accident. However, this coverage type will also pay for other injury-related expenses, such as lost income. The average limit amount for PIP coverage in Texas is $2,500.
Have questions about filing your claim? We Can Help
If you’ve been in an accident and have questions about your policy and what coverage amount you may be entitled, don’t hesitate to call an attorney. At the Law Office of Julie Johnson PLLC, we can guide you through your policy, filing a claim, and negotiating for a fair settlement amount. To learn more about what to do after a car accident, contact our offices today at 214-290-8001.
Latest posts by Julie Johnson (see all)
- Motorcycle Accident Claims Life of Grand Prairie ISD Superintendent - September 3, 2019
- Trinity Metro Bus Accident Results in Death, Injuries - August 20, 2019
- Families Face the Unthinkable When Crane Unexpectedly Collapses at Dallas Apartment Complex - July 30, 2019