Under Texas law, every Dallas motorist is required to purchase and maintain adequate insurance to pay for the accidents they cause. Motorists do that by purchasing auto liability insurance. Such insurance has to cover other motorists involved in an accident, including medical expenses and the cost to replace or repair the other motorist’s car.
The current minimum Texas car insurance requirements limits are as follows.
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for one injured person.
- A total of $60,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage liability coverage per accident.
That, however, is the Texas minimum car insurance that all drivers must carry under Texas law. Many drivers purchase more than the basic requirements because if the damages in the accident in which you are at fault are higher than minimum coverage requirements, the other Dallas motorist could sue you to collect damages. The additional coverage can help cover expenses up to the higher policy limits.
Are there penalties if I violate the minimum Texas car insurance requirements?
If you violated the minimum financial responsibility, then you might face a number of appliances.
- For a first offense, you will have to pay a fine of between $175 and $350.
- For every additional offense, you will have to pay a fine of between $350 and $1,000. You could have your driver’s license suspended or your car impounded.
- If you violated the Texas minimum car insurance requirements and don’t have a driver’s license, you may have to pay up to $2,000 in fines, and/or may have to spend 180 days in jail.
If you violated the Texas car insurance requirements and cause an accident that results in serious injuries or fatalities, you may pay up to $4,000 in fines, and/or may have to spend one year in jail.
What does liability coverage include?
Liability insurance helps cover a number of expenses incurred by the other motorist after you have caused an accident in Dallas. Some of the covered expenses are listed below.
- Medical expenses
- Funeral costs
- Lost wages
- Compensation for pain and suffering
- Car repair or replacement costs of the other motorist’s car
- Car rental while the other person’s car is being repaired
- Your attorney fees if the other motorist sues you after you have caused an accident
Does my liability policy cover family members?
Your liability coverage may include you and your family members, like these people.
- Adopted or foster children
- People who are driving your car without permission
If your car at the time of the accident was being operated by a family member attending school away from home, or a spouse living elsewhere during a marital separation, these persons are also covered under your liability coverage.
Filing a Liability Claim against another Driver’s Insurer
Filing a car accident claim is often challenging for motorists in Dallas. Even if you provide all necessary documentation related to the accident and the other driver meets the Texas car insurance requirements, the insurance company could still find reasons to delay or deny a claim.
If you are having trouble filing a claim for compensation after an accident, speak with a car accident lawyer who has experience dealing with insurance companies, and learns how you can protect your rights. Call 214-290-8001 to speak with car accident lawyer Julie Johnson and discuss your claim. You can also fill out the online contact form to schedule a free initial consultation.
Latest posts by Julie Johnson (see all)
- Car Accident Evidence Preservation after Your Dallas Wreck - October 2, 2014
- Post-Accident Drug Testing for Dallas Truck Drivers - September 26, 2014
- What are the truck laws for texting and driving? - September 26, 2014