Pedestrian laws are designed to keep everyone on the road—walkers and drivers alike—safe. That’s why following them is paramount. When you’re walking in Texas, make sure you adhere to these pedestrian laws to avoid pedestrian accidents.
Only Cross on a ‘Walk’ Signal
When a pedestrian is in a crosswalk, he or she is allowed to proceed across the street as long as the crosswalk control signal reads, ‘Walk.’ If the signal says ‘Don’t Walk’ or ‘Wait,” then a pedestrian is prohibited from crossing.
Move to a Sidewalk or Island
If you have already entered the road when the walk signal switches to ‘Don’t Walk’ or “Wait,” Texas Transportation Code Section 552.002 states that you should proceed “to a sidewalk or safety island.” As a note, Texas law also reads that pedestrians should keep to the right side of a crosswalk whenever possible.
Yield the Right-of-Way to Vehicles
In crosswalks when the sign reads ‘Walk,’ the pedestrian has the right of way. However, pedestrians must yield the right of way to vehicles when crossing at any point other than a safely marked crosswalk.
What’s more, Texas Transportation Code explicitly prohibits pedestrians from suddenly leaving a curb or other place to “proceed into a crosswalk in the path of a vehicle so close that it is impossible for the vehicle operator to yield.”
Use the Sidewalk
Sidewalks are in place because they help to keep pedestrians safe from vehicles. As such, it makes sense that Texas Transportation Code Section 552.006 prohibits pedestrians from walking along a roadway when an adjacent sidewalk is both provided and accessible.
Do Not Solicit
Finally, pedestrians in Texas are prohibited from participating in any solicitation activities.
The law does make an exception for solicitations for charitable contributions when authorized by the local authority.
Who’s liable for a pedestrian accident: me or the driver?
If you were doing something against the law at the time of your pedestrian accident—like walking while impaired—you may have questions about your claim and whether or not the other driver can still be held liable. Often, the answer to this is yes; unless you were more than 50 percent at fault for the accident, you’re not barred from recovering damages.
At the Law Office of Julie Johnson PLLC, our attorneys can help you file your claim for damages and help you to understand how pedestrian laws play a role in your case. To learn more, contact us today at 214-290-8001.
Latest posts by Julie Johnson (see all)
- What Is Needed to Win a Car Accident Lawsuit in Texas? - April 16, 2019
- Johnson & Johnson Talcum Lawsuit Verdict Stands at $4.69 Billion - February 8, 2019
- Recent Tragedy Demonstrates Just How Dangerous Construction Sites Can Be - October 18, 2018