Texas law requires that all drivers carry the state’s minimum liability insurance coverage minimums.
- $30,000 per person for bodily injury
- $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
There are other types of insurance that all drivers should consider carrying.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Approximately 15 to 20 percent of drivers in Texas don’t carry insurance at all, according to car insurance company Geico. That means that almost one-quarter of the drivers on the road likely won’t be able to compensate you after a car accident.
That’s where uninsured motorist coverage comes in; uninsured motorist coverage will help to pay for bodily injury damages in an accident in a hit-and-run, or when the at-fault driver is uninsured. If you opt for this coverage type, the minimum amount required is $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage. Also, uninsured motorist will help you out if a driver fled the scene of the accident.
In Texas, you can also purchase uninsured motorist coverage for property damage. The minimum amount is $25,000 and a deductible of $250 unless you choose to forego this coverage type.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection, or PIP coverage, is similar to medical payments coverage; it will help to pay for medical expenses in an accident regardless of who is at fault. What’s more, though, PIP coverage will also pay for 80 percent of lost income as well as the cost of a caregiver if needed. For those who don’t want PIP coverage, the refusal of this coverage type must be made in writing. Otherwise, the minimum coverage amount is $2,500, although a higher coverage amount may be purchased.
Comprehensive & Collision Coverage
This type of coverage type is wise to purchase — see below — but is not a requirement for Texas drivers.
Comprehensive coverage will pay for damages to your vehicle in these events.
- It’s stolen
- It is vandalized
- It is damaged in an accident that doesn’t involve another vehicle (such as a fire)
Collision coverage covers the cost of replacing or repairing your car after an accident.
Recovering a Settlement Amount after an Accident in Texas
The more car insurance types that you have, the more likely it is that you’ll receive a settlement amount that adequately covers the damages that you’ve incurred in an accident.
However, insurance companies aren’t always eager to pay up – to help you negotiate for a fair settlement amount, call the attorneys at the Law Office of Julie Johnson PLLC. To get started, schedule your case consultation now by calling 214-290-8001.